About the Physical
A Bachelor of Science in Physical Education/Teacher Certification prepares professionals to direct physical education and coaching activities in a school setting. Millikin offers State of Illinois teaching endorsements in Health Education and Driver Education in conjunction with the Physical Education, Specialist (K-12) teacher certification.
View Millikin's School of Education learning goals here.
View the Physical Education major assessment plans here.
To become certified to teach Physical Education, students must complete:
- Required Exercise Science & Sport coursework for Physical Education
- University graduation requirements
- The professional education core of courses required by the Department of Education.
- See the Teacher Education Program for specific academic standards and admissions information.
Physical Education as a Second Teaching Field
Students completing a secondary teacher education program can earn an additional endorsement to teach secondary physical education by completing additional requirements to total a minimum of 24 semester hours.
In addition to a secondary teaching certificate, Millikin students can receive the 24 hours of specific coursework required by the State of Illinois. To receive the full health endorsement on their teaching certificate, students must also pass the Health Content Test.
Register online for Certification Testing Information
Driver Education Endorsement
In addition to a secondary teaching certificate, 16 hours of coursework is required to teach Driver Education in the State of Illinois. Find out details from the
Driver Education Endorsement Requirements
FAQs to come