Millikin Home
Big Blue RSS
Millikin University - Decatur, IL
Leadership Awards Ceremony 
Millikin University > Inclusion and Student Engagement > Leadership Awards Ceremony
2012-2013 Student Organization Winners

Philanthropy of the Year
Delta Sigma Phi, Shipwrecked

Co-sponsored Program of the Year
University Center Board, Songwriting Contest
Musicology Discussion Group, Songwriting Contest

Small Program of the Year
Panhellenic Council, DIVE

Large Program of the Year
Black Student Union, Fashion Show: Intergalactic

Diversity Program
International Student Organization, Diwali-Mela: Festival of Lights

Best Educational
Millikin InterVarrsity Christian Fellowship, YOLO: What will you Live For?

Top Greek Five Star Award
Delta Sigma Phi

Community Impact Award
Best Buddies

Best New Student Organization
Opera Tutti

Most Improved Student Organization
Brothers Moving Forward

Student Organization of the Year
Millikin InterVarsity Christian Fellowship

Dean's Cup
Sigma Delta Pi

The Leadership Awards Ceremony was created in 2009. During the past 5 years we have celebrated individual, organizational, and programs that have impacted the Millikin and Decatur community.

This past year, our student organizations, leaders, faculty, and staff provided our community with strong programs and visionary leadership. The Leadership Awards Ceremony was held on Wednesday, May 1, 2013 at 7:30pm.

We had an overwhelming number of nominations including over 160 individuals, 31 student organizations, and 56 programs. Over 300 guests participated in celebrating the honored individuals, student organizations, and programs.

2012-2013 Individual Winners

Freshman of the Year
Laura Steele, The Decaturian
Jared Rixstine, Student Senate

Sophomore of the Year
Shelbi Baker, Pi Beta Phi
Lindsay Quick, University Center Board
Marcus Quick, Sigma Alpha Epsilon

Junior of the Year
Jianna Fernandez, Multicultural Student Council
Ernest Ameyaw, Brothers Moving Forward

Senior of the Year
Jamie Rockhold, Collegiate DECA
Chris Pelikan, Society of Physics Students

Pace Student of the Year
Hillary Mosier

Student Employee of the Year
Jonathan Spickerman

Volunteer of the Year
Jake Moorehead

Community Commitment Award
Millikin Men's Basketball Team

Student Activist of the Year
Jon Williamsen, Sigma Lambda Beta Fraternity, Inc.  

Rising Student Leader
Chris DeGiacomo, Millikin University Concert Committee

James Millikin Student Leader
Kyli Humm, Illinois Education Association

Student Organization President
Alice Gu, Asian Student Association

Advisor of the Year
Alex Miller, Alpha Psi Omega
George Bennett, American Chemical Society


                          Click here to go back to the Leadership page

 Contact Us        
Inclusion and Student Engagement
Richards Treat University Center
1184 West Main Street
Decatur, IL 62522
Phone: 217.424.6335
Fax: 217.424.3544

Millikin University - Decatur, IL
Millikin University - Decatur, IL