Millikin Home
Big Blue RSS
Millikin University - Decatur, IL
James MillikinIn the fall of 1973, the Vice President for Academic Affairs established a special ad hoc committee to begin planning for a comprehensive honors program at Millikin. The committee members included Dr. Henry Gromoll (Chairman, Behavioral Sciences), Dr. Daniel Guillory (Assistant Professor, English), Dr. Robert McIntire (Chairman, Political Science), and Dr. Ron Shelton (Chairman, Mathematics). Dr. McIntire assumed responsibilities as the first Chairman of the "James Millikin Scholars Committee." New members were then added to the Committee, including Professor William Chapman (Accounting), Mr. James Kettelkamp (Admissions), Professor Norman Jensen (Biology), and Professor Susan Schoen (Music). During the 1973-74 academic year, the Committee developed a set of procedures for identifying and interviewing prospective candidates for the JMS Program. In May of 1974, at the regular monthly faculty meeting, the James Millikin Scholars Program was formally approved by a vote of the entire faculty. The Program became operational with the entering class of September, 1974. In January, 1975 Dr. Daniel Guillory began serving as Chairman, and later that year two members were added to the Committee: Dr. Neil Baird (Biology) and Professor Mary Lauerman (Foreign Languages). Acting on Committee recommendations made in the spring of 1976, Dr. Givens, Academic Vice President, appointed eighteen faculty members to serve as special JMS Advisors, beginning with the fall term, 1976. At that time the Program membership had grown to about sixty-five students and some two dozen faculty and administrators.
Millikin University - Decatur, IL
Millikin University - Decatur, IL