Millikin Home
Millikin Directory
Millikin Mobile
Big Blue RSS
Millikin University - Decatur, IL
Millikin University > Alumni & Friends > Stay Connected > Millikin Quarterly > Posts > Two Tekes Take Top National Honor

Each year, Tau Kappa Epsilon fraternity gives “Top Teke” awards to only six out of 250,000 members in 291 chapters across the U.S. and Canada, the highest honor that an undergraduate member can receive. Often, this award goes to undergraduates of larger universities. But this year, for the first time   in the fraternity’s history, two men from one chapter, Bobby Gregory of Staunton, Ill., and David Anderson of Poplar Grove, Ill., received the honor simultaneously.

Gregory, a May graduate, distinguished himself for the award through his work as a chemistry major. He was published in a journal for his research at Archer Daniels Midland Co., where he worked to develop oil dispersant for the BP oil spill. Gregory also was a house manager for the fraternity. He is currently working as a medical scribe in an emergency room and will attend medical school next year.

David Anderson, a commercial music major and Presidential Scholar graduating this December, has served as the chaplain and new member educator for TKE, and has served two terms as Interfraternity Council’s first vice president of recruitment, where he worked with the athletics department to increase the number of athletes involved in Greek life. He and fellow TKE Kevin Stocks of Bloomington, Ill., won the “Most Outstanding Team” award at the 2011 Illinois Moot Court Competition. Anderson also founded and is president of the Student Honors Advisory Council. He plans to attend law school next year.

Stocks, TKE’s current president, says, “I’m proud to belong to a chapter that has produced three Top Tekes in two years.”

Success of this sort is not foreign to Millikin’s fraternity community. Last year, Sam Osborne ’10, who was recently named the Big Blue’s golf coach, also received the “Top Teke” award, and during the 2007-08 academic year, the entire house was recognized as a “Top Teke Chapter.” In 2009, Sigma Alpha Epsilon’s Rob McNamara ’09 received SAE’s “True Gentleman of the Year” award, SAE’s equivalent to the “Top Teke,” distinguishing himself as the first Millikin SAE to receive this honor; this summer senior Garrett Derman of Irvine, Calif., received the “Outstanding Eminent Archon” award for his accomplishments as president of his chapter at SAE’s annual John O. Moseley Leadership School.

And in 2004, Delta Sigma Phi’s Paul Lidy ’04, now Millikin’s associate director of student programs and the Richards Treat University Center, received DSP’s highest honor, the “E. Allen James Outstanding Undergraduate” award.

by Jackson Lewis ’13


There are no comments yet for this post.
Millikin University - Decatur, IL
Millikin University - Decatur, IL
Millikin University - Decatur, IL
Millikin University - Decatur, IL
Millikin University - Decatur, IL
Millikin University - Decatur, IL