Millikin Home
Big Blue RSS
Millikin University - Decatur, IL
Press Releases

For the third year in a row, a team representing Millikin University was named “Moot Court Champion” at the annual Model Illinois Government competition at the Capitol Complex in Springfield, Ill.  

The first place team, senior philosophy and political science majors Kenny Miller of Indianapolis, Ind. and Justin Allen of Normal turned in a dominating performance, winning each of their arguments in the competition. 

This year’s victory marks the third first-place finish for Miller and the second for Allen. 

Miller’s record is made more impressive by the fact that he has never lost an argument during his three years participating in the Moot Court competition. 

“It’s been an honor to be a part of this team for the past three years,” remarked Miller. “Moot Court has been one of the most academically challenging and rewarding experiences of undergraduate study. I can’t think of a better way to prepare myself for a legal career.”

Adding to Millikin’s successes in the competition were Caitlin Harriman, a junior from Evergreen, Colo. majoring in political science and Jeff Tucker, a sophomore from Decatur majoring in communication. The team earned second place overall. 

This year’s competition marks the third time in the past six years that Millikin teams have taken both first and second place during the same competition and the fourth time in six years that a Millikin team has won the championship.

“I don’t know that any college or university in this competition has had a string of successes like ours,” remarked Dr. Robert Money, associate professor of philosophy and faculty advisor to Millikin’s moot court program. “It is truly an honor to work with these outstanding students.” 

Money, who serves as director of the University’s pre-law program, went on to say, “Moot Court is the single best activity that I know of to prepare students for law school. Aside from legal research, the competition helps develop skills such as logical reasoning, collaboration, and courtroom decorum – all essential for practicing law.”

Two other Millikin teams were named quarterfinalists in the competition: Lizzie Vicars, a junior from Elgin majoring in political science, and Colin Bechtel, a freshman from Decatur majoring in philosophy; and Lindsey Compton, a sophomore from Darien majoring in English, and David Krolikowski, a junior from Bloomington majoring in sociology. 

In addition to the team victories, Harriman received the student award for “Most Outstanding Attorney.”

Other Millikin students who participated in the competition include Anna Stenzel-Kuehn, from Oak Lawn majoring in philosophy; Max Simpkins, a senior from Danville majoring in history; Kyle McAllister-Grum, a junior from Wauconda majoring in sociology; Jellisa Willis, a sophomore from Chicago majoring in business; Dustin Clark, a senior from Dewey majoring in philosophy, and Klay Baynar, a junior from Mt. Zion majoring in philosophy. 

For more information on Millikin’s Moot Court team, visit www.millikin.edu/academics/cas/prelaw/moot. 

Skip navigation links
Press Releases

Millikin University - Decatur, IL
Millikin University - Decatur, IL