Millikin University Symphonic Wind Ensemble

Under the direction of Dr. Gary Shaw, the Millikin University Symphonic Wind Ensemble offers an unparalleled experience in musicianship.  Frequent guest conductors and soloists have visited the Millikin University campus to perform with students in the band program.  Notable conductors include John P. Paynter, Stephen Eggelston, Robert Grechesky, Charles Menghini, Mark Camphouse,  Colonel Thomas Rotundi (retired) United States Army Band and conductor/composers Robert W. Smith and Brian Balmages. Notable guest soloists performing with the bands include Millikin faculty members, Canadian Brass trumpeter, Ronald Romm; tubist Harvey Phillips; and trombonist John Marcellus.

The Millikin Wind Ensemble has participated in several new composition consortium with other universities. Composers involved in these new pieces for wind ensemble include David Maslanka, David Gillingham, John Mackey, John Stevens, Michael Schelle, Joseph Schwantner and Libby Larsen.


Julie Moore-Wolfe, Narrator, Mayor of Decatur
Ann Borders, soprano, Millikin University faculty


The Star Spangled Banner by Francis Scott Key

Americans We by Fillmore by Henry Fillmore

Battle Cry of Freedom by Scott Ninmer

Each Time You Tell Their Story by Samuel Hazo

Armed Forces Salute by Bob Lowden

America the Dream Goes On by John Williams
Ann Borders, soprano

Inchon by Robert W. Smith

Heroes, Lost and Fallen (A Viet Nam Memorial) by David Gillingham

God Bless America arranged by Kessler
Ann Borders, soprano

The Stars and Stripes Forever by John Philip Sousa

Kirkland Fine Arts Center - Free and open to the public!

Listen to our work

Click to listen to Festive Overture by Dimitri Shostakovich and Apollo Unleashed by Frank Ticheli from a recent performance in Kirkland Fine Arts Center along with Gumsucker's March by Percy Grainger.