Millikin University - Decatur, IL
November 2010- Dan Derrick

It is a pleasure to accept the recommendation of the Employee Recognition Committee that Dan Derrick be honored as Employee of the Month for November 2010.  Dan began working at Millikin University as Scene Shop Foreman on August 18, 2008.

The Employee Recognition Committee received very compelling support for Dan’s nomination, including the following comments:

“Dan Derrick is an extremely devoted employee who puts an incredible amount of time, energy and dedication into both educating our student employees and producing top-of-the line products both as the scene shop supervisor for the Department of Theatre and Dance, and also as the sound designer for our most recent production, The Drowsy Chaperone, in Kirkland Fine Arts Center.”

“Dan put in seemingly countless overtime hours this month to ensure the success of this production, and he did so with the positive attitude and a professionalism that we hope to instill in our students. We couldn't have made The Drowsy Chaperone happen without him, and this is not an irregularity. Dan is an incredibly hard worker and is extremely dedicated to the success of the department's productions, and more importantly, its students.”

“He's soft spoken and goes about his work without ego or desire for accolade.  He's challenged daily by students who have little knowledge of technical theatre, yet he's able to assist them in their development as complete theatre artists - sometimes despite their best efforts to the contrary.  In short, in my respectful opinion, there is no one more deserving, and it would be a shame not to recognize his contributions to the university.”

“Dan works in our scenic shop building and teaching students how to create scenic elements for our theatre productions. Dan routinely goes beyond the call of duty to help the students and demonstrates the qualities of a consummate professional.”

Congratulations, Dan, on such a well-deserved honor!

The Employee Recognition Committee members are: Co-Chairs – Cindy Landacre and Danielle Fields; Amy Brilley, David Horn, Tammy Maxwell, Mary Peters, Paul Scherschel, Paula Stickles, Amanda Waszczuk (student representative).


The Employee Recognition Committee also thanks this month's sponsors: Starbucks, Papa Murphy's, Dairy Queen, Buffalo Wild Wings, Lock Stock & Barrel, Firewater Cafe , Peerless Cleaners , Texas Roadhouse, Kirkland Fine Arts Center, Department of Theatre & Dance, Millikin University Marketing, Bronze Man Books, Alumni and Development, The National Bird-Feeding Society, Carlos O’Kelly, Disc Replay

Return to the Top of the Page, the 2010-2011 EOM Page, or on to the December EOM.

Millikin University - Decatur, IL
Millikin University - Decatur, IL