Millikin University - Decatur, IL
Press Releases
On April 26, 2012, Millikin University honored students and faculty members during the 2012 Distinguished Faculty Lecture and Honors Convocation. The event recognizes students in all four colleges for outstanding scholastic achievement and service to Millikin, and faculty members for exceptional contributions to the university.

Over 70 endowed awards were presented, many of which were established over the past 100 years as a way to remember the Millikin students, faculty, staff and friends who have left a lasting impression upon the University community.

This year’s Distinguished Faculty Lecture was presented by Ngozi Onuora, Instructor of Education. Onuora teaches in both the traditional and PACE programs for the Millikin School of Education. She holds a B.S. from Illinois State University and an M.S. from Eastern Illinois University. She is currently working on an Ed.D. in Curriculum and Instruction, Language and Literacy Division, with an area of emphasis in Children’s and Young Adult Literature from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.

Congratulations to this year’s winners!


Behavioral Science Award –
Gerald A. Pantoja

Henry F. Gromoll Service Award – Valerie J. Anderson and Rebecca L. Freier

Biology Honors Award – Sarah E. Kidwell

Clyde Dennis Award –
Isabelle L. Jeffries, Samuel R. Nesemann and Brittany N. Sherron

George and Rick Glasscock Memorial Biology Award – Phyllis G. Walworth

John and Ula Leighty Research Award –
Matthew T. DeCosse, Amanda M. Guinn and Adam M. Jesionowski

Alpha Epsilon Delta Award –
Brittany N. Sherron and Margaret L. Tate

American Chemical Society Award in Analytical Chemistry –
Chelsea M. Hadsall

American Institute of Chemists Award –
Stephanie N. Gates

Chemical Rubber Company Prize – Amanda J. Stiner

Dr. and Mrs. William F. Henderson Prize – Kirsten L. Daykin, Denise M. Freeman, Stephanie N. Gates, Chelsea M. Hadsall and Cody L. Smith

Carl and Lucile Weatherbee Chemistry Award – Kirsten L. Daykin, Denise M. Freeman, Stephanie N. Gates and Kimberly M. Watson

Carl and Lucile Weatherbee Graduate Studies Award –
Valerie T. Kale

Dr. Everett J. Brown Prize – Melissa K. Nodurft, Alexandra N. Oremus and Christopher J. Ray

Dr. and Mrs. W.J. Darby Prize –
Heather R. Bulthuis, Isabelle L. Jeffries and Sarah A. Reed

Dr. Grace Patten Conant Writing Award (For literary interpretation)
Joseph W. Bein and Jordan L. Pennington

Dr. Grace Patten Conant Writing Award (For literary creation)
Joseph W. Bein and Emma R. Wilson

Dr. Grace Patten Conant English Department Award –
Joseph W. Bein

Dr. Grace Patten Conant Society Achievement Award –
Margaret J. Eby and Sarah A. Stuehm

Outstanding Journalism Award – Lindsey R. Compton

Dr. J. Graham Provan History Award – Julia C. Hesse, Chase T. Plasencia and Whitney D. Vanderspool-Snell

Sigrid A. Stottrup History Award – Kara K. Allison and Kelby M. Dolan

Mathematics and Computer Science Award – Jacklyn R. Buhrmann

Linda Weatherbee Mathematics Award – Lane E. Bloome

Modern Languages Linguistic Excellence Award – Christin J. Egli

Modern Languages Literary Criticism Prize – Laura C. Mixen

Margaret Burkhardt Johnson Modern Language Excellence Award – Chelsie S. Batko and Ashley M. Major

Thomas W. and Mary R. Adney Memorial Award –
Justin M. Ladendorf

Dr. Robert McIntire Political Science Award –
Conor F. Wrigley

T.W. Samuels Award – Kevin F. Stocks

Outstanding Political Science Major Award – Caitlin C. Harriman

Alice Ambrose Lazerowitz Philosophy Award – Haley R. Carr

Rev. Robert S. and Doris Stewart Prize in Religion – Haley R. Carr and Tyler S. Lamensky

Outstanding Physics Award – Jamiahus D. Walton


Pi Kappa Lambda Outstanding Senior Award – Stacey L. Weidner

Presser Scholarship – Aaron M. Villarreal

Alice Herren Ayars Award – Eric G. Burgett and Kevin W. Macha

Wilna Moffett Award – Stacey L. Weidner

Mary B. Merris Award – Alyssa M. Morrison and Kari A. Ringgenberg

Winifred St. Clair Minturn Award – Sean M. McDonald

William Eichenauer Guitar Award – Matthew D. Hoaglund and Jacob D. Widenhofer

Thomas A. Johnson Memorial Award – Eric J. Dawson

Dr. Russell Tiede Honors Award –
Kari A. Ringgenberg

Dr. Maria Klott Memorial Award – Emily O. Schneider and David A. Triptow

Joan and Melvin Grabowski Memorial Award – Lauren C. Taylor and Emily E. Wilson

Dr. L.C. McNabb Memorial Award –
Brittany A. Falardeau and Julia A. Smith

Michelle Chartier Memorial Award –
Joseph W. Bein

Kathryn Paige Torp Memorial Award – Sierra R. Goldberg and Sean M. Tait

Ron Smith Award in Musical Theatre – Elizabeth A. Fallon, Andrew R. Purcell and Elizabeth F. Torre

J. Ben Wand Prize – Brittany E. Dye and Collin P. O’Conner

Marvin Klaven Art Award –
Jessica F. Black, Nekoda Hoke, Charles G. Huth, Alexa M. Snyder and Kari Y. Thornton

David S. Monroe Art Award –
Chelsea S. Arnold, Sheri L. Martin and Kelly A. Sibthorp

Dorothy Sellers Art Award – Millie E. Arp, Nicholas A. Burge, Emily L. Cardot, Jessica K. Claussen, Ashlee A. Colby, Sarah E. Kisly, Maya E. Holst, Crystal K. McCoy, Amanda R. Sagan and Christy D. Swanberg


The Smith/Orlandini Book Award – Brittany A. Cardott and Jonathan D. Haley

Walter Witt Award – Tyler A. Fawbush, James Hunter, Taylor M. King and Tyler A. Roush

Alpha Tau Delta Honorarium Award –
Samantha M. Miles

Decatur Memorial Hospital R.H. Cleland R.N. Award –
Kelsey E. Rollins

James Millikin Theory and Practice of Nursing Award – Courtney L. Allen and Emily A. Allen

Dorotha F. Dean Nursing Award – Amber M. Floyd

Macon County Medical Auxiliary Award – Brandon Edwards

The Dr. Mary D. Shanks & Dr. Linda K. Niedringhaus Excellence in Nursing Leadership Award – Shelly A. Challans and Beth A. Crissey


Glen R. Smith Award –
Justin M. Ladendorf

Smith/Quigle Family Award –
James D. Panozzo

John H. Crocker Memorial Award –
Kevin F. Stocks

Margaret Sparks Award – Michelle A. Hoerber

Linda Weatherbee Human Resource Management Award –
Anna N. Hartman

Paul R. Winn Memorial Achievement Award –
Audra M. Davis, Kelsey L. Nihiser, Kathryn J. Salvacion and Sarah A. Thomason


Alpha Lambda Delta Senior Book Award –
Kelsey L. Nihiser and Danielle L. Osmond

The JoAnne Trow Award – Chelsea M. Hadsall, Jarred W. Leeper, Jamie M. Rockhold and Kiernan M. Steiner

The Sigma Alpha Epsilon, Illinois Delta Chapter Award of Excellence –
Steve Berger, Jackson B. Lewis, Patrick W. Jordan, Ryan J. Martini and Samuel F. Spurling

The Millikin University Greek Five Star Chapter Award – Pi Beta Phi Fraternity and Delta Sigma Theta Sorority

C.W. Barnes Memorial Award – Ariel B. Robinson

Parent Association Achievement Award – Brandon J. Barney, Camille S. McClendon, Brendan R. Bauers and Jamie M. O’Halloran

Major Thomas G. Storey Citizenship Award – Gerald A. Pantoja

Dr. Jere C. Mickel Human Relations Award – Grace E. Barnett

Daniel J. and Elinor Gage Student Activities Award – Melissa K. Nodurft

Helen Moffett Russell Community Service Award – Whitney D. Vanderspool-Snell

Eshelman Family Award – Audra M. Davis and Timothy S. Shirriffs

Dr. Jan Devore Award for Excellence in Contributions to Campus Life – Dylan C. Howser

Dr. J. Roger Miller Leadership Award – Julia A. Smith

Alpha Lambda Delta Outstanding Teaching Award –
Dr. Michael D. Hartsock, Assistant Professor of Philosophy

Teaching Excellence and Campus Leadership Award – Dr. Judith Parrish, Department Chair of Biology and Professor of Plant Ecology

Scovill Prize – Kevin F. Stocks, Emily O. Schneider, Lane E. Bloome, Jacquelyn G. Rogers, Jamiahus D. Walton, Jamie M. Rockhold, John R. Blakeman and Jessica K. Staire
Skip navigation links
Press Releases

Millikin University - Decatur, IL
Millikin University - Decatur, IL